Paul R. LePage

Governor

Phone 207-626-3880

Maine Department of Public Safety
State Fire Marshal's Office

52 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0052

John E. Morris

Commissioner

Joseph Thomas
State Fire Marshal
Fax 207-287-6251

Statement of Deficiencies and Plan of Corrections

Facility Name: Peregrine Corp, Attn: Mike Fletcher

Location: 25 Wall St. '
Portland, ME 04101

Facility Type MHR (8 units, 10 beds) & Assisted Living

Telephone: 207-899-4793

Resource 11; 229361 File#: 70012

License Owner:
Owner Address:

Bldg. Owner: C & C Realty Management Attn, Lynn Creamer
Owner Address: P.O. Box 2506 .
Aupusta, ME 04338

During an inspection of your facility a certified State Inspector
has found the following violations.

In this right hand cofumn you are required to indicate how and
when you will have these violations corrected. Complete this
information and return this ""Plan of Correction" to the above
address within 10 days of receipt of this statement.

1) Discontinue storing items all items in the boiler
and electrical room unless directly related to the
utilities. (NFPA 1:10.19.5)

2) Due to smoking in the units the smoke
detectors/alarms in units 3, 5 and 7 verified they still
meet manufacturer’s specifications.

3) Ducts for exhausting clothes dryers shall not be
put together with sheet metal screws or other
fastening means that extend into the duct. Exhaust
ducts for clothes dryers shall meet the following
criteria: (1) They shall be constructed of rigid sheet
metal or other noncombustible material and shall
have a smooth interior surface. {2) They shall have a
minimum thicknesses equivalent to No, 24
galvanized steel gauge for Type 2 ducts and No. 28
gauge for Type 1 ducts. (Your unit would be
considered a Type 1 dryer.) (NFPA 211: 10.7.3)

4) Exercise caution regarding acceptable items to dry
in the dryer, based on the manufacturer’s guidelines
written on the dryer. It is suggested a policy be
developed.

5) Unless otherwise recommended by the
manufacturer's published instructions, single- and
multiple-station smoke alarms installed in one- and
two-family dwellings shall be replaced when they
fail to respond to operability tests, but shall not
remain in service longer than 10 years from the date
of manufacture. All units in each apartment must
have their aged verified and replaced if older than 10

Date ol Inspéciton: 7/5/18
Inspector;  Sue Dion
Date Sent: 19 July, 2018

Date:
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During an inspection of your facility a certified State Inspector
has found the following violations.

In this right hand column you are required to indicate how and
when you will have these violations corrected. Complete this
information and return this ""Pian of Correction” to the above
address within 10 days of receipt of this statement.

years. Smoking in units can decrcase their usefulness
as well. (NFPA 72 -10.4.7)

FYI Per State Law: A smoke detector installed or
replaced, after the effective date of this subsection
(2009), within 20 feet of a kitchen or of a bathroom
containing a tub or shower must be a photoelectric-
type smoke detector except that ionization detectors
are permitted within the bedrooms even if the
bedroom is within 20 feet of a kitchen or bathroom
containing a tub or shower. A person may not
knowingly interfere with or make inoperative any
smoke detector required by this section, except that
the owner or the agent of an owner of a building may
temporarily disconnect a detector in a dwelling unit
or common area only for construction or
rehabilitation activities when such activities are
likely to activate the detector or make it inactive.
The detector must be immediately reconnected at the
cessation of construction or rehabilitation activities
each day, regardless of the intent to return to
construction or rehabilitation activities on
succeeding days. A person who violates this section
is guilty of a civil violation and is subject to a
forfeiture of not more than $500 for each violation.
The court may waive any penalty or cost against any
violator upon satisfactory proof that the violation
was corrected within 10 days of the issuance of a.
complaint. (Title 25 Part 6 Chapter 317 Subsection
2464)

Cec: Portland Fire Department
Bldg. Management Company
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