
d' November 12,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Mr. Robert G. Lopez 
Mrs. Jean Lopez 
46 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #46 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month 
"As Is" Unit Price to Tenants $255,000 

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Lopez 

1 .  General Explanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(9 You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 



November 9,2004 
Page 2 

120 day period is extended hrther if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 

The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
6 1604-1 1 1 , is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland’s Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $ 1604-1 11, this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days’ 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants’ peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $1604-1 11, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Option to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the “As Is selling price to Tenants,” the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
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51604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. 41604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
5 1604-1 1 1. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, 4608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Family Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35,100 

~ ~~ 

2 $40,150 
3 $45.150 . ,  
4 $50,150 
5 $54,150 
6 $58,200 
7 $62,200 
8 $66,200 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

J If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 
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A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 

4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the &r to occur of: (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
OVE ESTATES LLC 

cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
I 1/9/04 1048 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portlad, ME 04 103-462 1 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

Cl I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Noticc Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



/'' November 12,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Kevin Hardy 
48 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #48 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month 
"AS Is'' Unit Price to Tenants $255,000 

Dear Kevin: 

1. General Exdanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(9 You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
$ 1604- 1 1 1,  is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 1 1 ,  this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peacehl 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. 4 1604-1 1 1 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $ 1  604-1 1 1 ,  the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Ootion to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "AS Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If  you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604- 1 1 1 (b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
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the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. 51604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
3 1604- 1 1 1. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, 5608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

f Familv Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35.100 I 
2 $40,150 
3 $45,150 
4 $50.150 

I 5 $54.150 I 
6 $58,200 
7 $62,200 
8 $6 6 , 2 0 0 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 

questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 

determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have /" 

A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the !a& to occur of: (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

J 

cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 IO 48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 041 03-462 1 

Dated: 9 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 Ah4 



November 12,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Jason Xu 
Bin Meng 
50 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #50 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month 
"AS 1s'' Unit Price to Tenants $255,000 

Dear Jason and Bin: 

1. General Explanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(9 You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement'' contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) I20 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
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120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 

The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
51604-1 1 1 , is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $ 1604-1 1 1 , this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $1604-1 11, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Option to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the ''AS Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
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$1604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. $1 604-1 1 1 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-1 11. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, $608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

I Family Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35.100 

I 2 $40.1 50 I 
3 $45,150 
4 $50,150 
5 $54,150 
6 $58,200 

3 $45,150 
-- ", * - - 

5 $54,150 
$58,200 

I 7 $62.200 I 
I 8 $66.200 I 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the \c 

way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 

1 
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A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 

4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the &r to occur of: (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
BACK C VE ESTATES LLC A 
By: u-/& ee,, p YZ4&-/r(CC,EA - 

I/ 
c 

cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 1048 Ah4 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04 103-462 1 

Dated: ,200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



November 12,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Mrs. Ellen Nichols 
5 1 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #5 1 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires October 3 1 , 2004 
"AS Is" Unit Price to Tenants $255,000 

Dear Mi-s. Nichols 

1. General Explanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(i) You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement'' contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
$ 1604- 1 1 1, is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 1 1, this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $ 1604-1 1 1, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Ootion to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "As Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
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6 $58,200 
7 $62,200 

- 8 $66,200 

the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-111. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, $608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Familv Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35.100 
2 $401150 
3 $45,150 
4 $50.150 

I 5 $54.150 I 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
041 01 (telephone: 874-8703). 

A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the later to occur of: (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
VE ESTATES LLC 

jB4 cL fl Its /4.4&Me=JC- . 
c/ 

cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10.48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04 103-462 1 

Dated: 9 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

El I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 1048 AM 



November 12,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Helen & C. Roy Rice 
55 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 1 03 

Re: Unit #55 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires October 3 1,2004 
"As Is" Unit Price to Tenants $235,000 

Dear Helen and Roy: 

1. General Explanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

( 9  You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
$ 1604-1 1 1, is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. 51604-1 1 1, this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. 5 1604-1 1 1 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $ 1604-1 11, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $600 1. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Option to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "As Is selling price to Tenants,'' the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
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the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. 8 1604-1 1 1 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
51604-1 11. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, 8608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Familv Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35,100 
2 $40,150 
3 $45.150 

I 4 $50.150 I 
5 $54,150 
6 $5 8,200 
7 $62,200 

I 8 $66.200 I 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 1 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 

A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the !a& to occur of: (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

have 

cc 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know 
any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
BACK COVE ESTATES LLC 

By: 0- k eci-c 
/// Zts hx 4Ywfpq # 

; /  I/ 

City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

if you 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04 103-462 1 

Dated: 9 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

Cl I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



I 

November 12,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Mr. Sidney Shane 
56 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #56 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires October 3 1,2005 
"As Is" Unit Price to Tenants $235,000 

Dear Mr. Shane: 

1. General Exolanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(9 You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 

1604-1 1 1 , is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 1 1, this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. 5 1604-1 1 1 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $ 1604-1 1 1 , the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Day Exclusive ODtion to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "AS Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
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the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. 5 1604-1 1 1 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-1 11. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, $608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Family Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35,100 
2 $40,150 
3 $45,150 ' 

4 R5n 150 

t 3 

6 $58,200 
7 $62,200 
8 $66.200 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 

' 

v" 

A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the to occur of (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
BACmOVE ESTATES LLC 

cc 

Enclosure: 

City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 Ah4 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04 103-462 1 

Dated: 9 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10.48 AM 



November 12,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

David Scribner 
59 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #59 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month 
"AS Is" Unit Price to Tenants $235,000 A 

Dear David: 

1. General Explanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(9  You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
5 1604-1 11, is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. 5 1604-1 11, this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A 5 1604-1 1 1, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Ontion to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "As Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604- 1 1 1 (b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
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the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. 5 1604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
51604-1 11. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, $608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Family Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35,100 
2 $40,150 

I 3 $45.150 I 
I 4 $50.150 I 

5 $54,150 
6 $58,200 
7 $62.200 

I 8 $66.200 I 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

1'' If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 

A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the !a& to occur of (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
B A C R V E  ESTATES LLC 

J 
cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04103-4621 

Dated: 3 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

Is1 I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10.48 AM 



d' November 12,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Jonathon Parker 
60 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #60 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month 
"AS Is" Unit Price to Tenants $225,000 

Dear Jonathon: 

1. General Explanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(9 You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fiaction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
$ 1604-1 11, is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11, this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. 51604-1 11 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A 8 1604-1 1 1 , the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Option to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "AS Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
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the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
8 1604-1 11. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, 5608.5, 1 1-16-8 1). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Family Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35,100 
2 $40,150 
3 $45,150 
4 $50- 1 50 
5 $54,150 
6 $58,200 
7 $62,200 
8 $66,200 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 

A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the to occur of (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. I f  you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

ours, 
::$?!!E ESTATES LLC 

cc 

Enclosure: 

City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04 1 03 -462 1 

Dated: 9 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

El I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



November 9,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Constance Homer 
62 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 1 03 

Re: Unit #62 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month 
"As Is'' Unit Price to Tenants $225,000 

Dear Constance: 

1. General Exdanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(0 You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease, If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
$ 1604-1 1 1 ,  is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 1 1 ,  this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. 8 1604-1 1 1  is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A §1604-111, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Option to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "As Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
51604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 



November 9,2004 
Page 3 

the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. 9 1604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-111. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the US.  
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (SO) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, 5608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Familv Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35,100 
2 $40,150 
3 $45,150 
4 $50,150 
5 $54,150 
6 $58,200 
7 $62,200 
8 $66,200 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
041 01 (telephone: 874-8703). 

A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the later to occur of: (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
B A C V V E  ESTATES LLC 

i 

cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Divi 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04 103-462 1 

Dated: 9 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



J' November 9,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Jonathon Roop 
63 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #63 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month 
"As Is" Unit Price to Tenants $225,000 

Dear Jonathon: 

1. General Explanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

( 9  You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

(ii) 

(iii) 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If  you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership, This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
9 1604- 1 1 1, is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 ,  this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. 9 1604-1 11 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $1604-1 11, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. 96001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Option to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "As Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
51604-1 1 1 (b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
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the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. $ 1604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
$1604-111. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, $608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

I Familv Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35,100 
2 $40.150 

I 3 $45.150 I 
I 4 $50.150 I 
I 5 $54.150 I 

6 $58,200 
7 $62,200 
8 $66,200 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 

J 
A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the h r  to occur of (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
B A C V V E  ESTATES LLC 

cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04103-4621 

Dated: 9 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

0 I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
I1/9/04 10:48 AM 



November 9,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Joseph Chandler 
Tom Yordporm 
65 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #65 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month 
"AS Is" Unit Price to Tenants $225,000 

Dear Joseph and Tom: 

1 .  General Exulanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(9 You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fraction thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement" contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
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120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 

The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
$ 1604-1 1 1 , is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 , this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peaceful 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 1 1 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $1604-1 11, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $600 1. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Day Exclusive Option to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "As Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
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$1604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. $1604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
51604-1 11. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U S .  
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, $608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Familv Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35,100 
2 $40,150 
3 $45,150 
4 $50.150 

I 5 $54.150 I 
I 6 $58.200 I 

7 $62,200 
8 $66,200 

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
04101 (telephone: 874-8703). 
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A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 

4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the later to occur of: (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
B A C L k I i l ; C  ~ 

r5P.C. 2 J 
cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
I 1/9/04 10 48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04 103-462 1 

Dated: Y 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

CI I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

17 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit # 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 10:48 AM 



November 9,2004 
BY HAND DELIVERY 

Mr. Robert Gibbons 
66 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, Maine 04 103 

Re: Unit #66 Legal Notice of Conversion to Condominium Ownership 
Lease expires Month to Month MI i/ 
"As Is'' Unit Price to Tenants $220,000 

Dear Mr. Gibbons: 

1. General Explanation: 

Back Cove Estates LLC purchased the Back Cove Estates apartment complex last December 
and will be establishing a condominium to be known as Back Cove Estates. 

We are required to give you this notice, which may be summarized as follows: 

(9 You have 60 days from the date this notice is delivered to your Unit in which to 
decide if you would like to purchase the unit you currently occupy at the price 
specified above. Prior to the expiration of the 60 day period, you must sign and 
deliver the purchase and sale agreement in the form provided in the attached Public 
Offering Statement and pay a $2,000 deposit; 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, you may still continue to live in your unit 
until your lease expires. However if your lease term ends within 120 days from the 
date you receive this notice, then you may still remain in your unit for 120 days on 
the same terms as your current lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than 
four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period wills increased by 30 additional 
days for each additional full year or fi-action thereof you have lived in the unit for 
up to 240 additional days (for example, if you have lived in the unit for 7 years and 
3 months, you may remain for an additional 120 days for a total of 240 days); and 

if your verified family income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income of 
the Portland area, adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development, then you are eligible for a relocation subsidy in 
an amount equal to the amount of rent you paid for the immediately preceding two 
(2) months. 

(ii) 

(iii) 

The enclosed "Public Offering Statement'' contains material required by law in order to help 
you make a decision as to whether you should purchase your unit. You should review it before you 
make your decision. 

If you do not wish to purchase your unit, we expect that some buyers may wish to continue to 
rent their units to tenants. We expect to make these situations available on a first come - first served 
basis although we do not guarantee that any specific tenants may be accommodated or that any specific 
units will be available. Otherwise if we do not hear from you, then you will need to vacate based on the 
later of (a) the date your lease term expires, or (b) 120 days from the date you receive this notice (the 
120 day period is extended further if you have resided in your unit for more than 4 consecutive years as 
set forth above). 
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The sooner that you indicate to us what your plans on the enclosed response sheet, the sooner 
we will be able to accommodate your situation. 

The legal text of the notice follows: 

1. Notice of Conversion: 

Notice is hereby given to each residential tenant and any residential subtenant in possession of a 
portion of the Back Cove Estates apartments, Portland, Maine, of the proposed conversion of your 
apartment to condominium ownership. This notice under the Maine Condominium Act, 33 M.R.S.A. 
$ 1604- 1 1 1, is being given no later than 120 days before any tenant or any subtenant in possession will 
be required to vacate. Under the City of Portland's Ordinances, if you have lived in your unit for more 
than four (4) years consecutively, this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or 
fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Under 33 M.R.S.A. 51604-1 11, this notice must be hand delivered to your unit or mailed by 
prepaid United States mail to you and any subtenant at the address of the unit or any other mailing 
address provided by a tenant. No tenant or subtenant will be required to vacate upon less than 120 days' 
notice, except by reason of non-payment of rent, waste or conduct that disturbs other tenants' peacehl 
enjoyment of the premises, and the terms of the tenancy may not be altered during that period. Failure 
to give this notice as required under 33 M.R.S.A. $ 1604-1 1 1 is a defense to an action for possession. 

As set forth in 33 M.R.S.A $1604-1 11, the specification of a date by which a unit must be 
vacated and in compliance with 14 M.R.S.A. $6001, this letter constitutes a notice to vacate under 14 
M.R.S.A. $6001. Nothing permits termination of a lease by us in violation of its terms. 

2. 60 Dav Exclusive Option to Purchase. 

For the 60 day period following the delivery of this notice to you, you have an exclusive and 
irrevocable option to purchase, at the price set forth as the "AS Is selling price to Tenants," the unit you 
now occupy. This option may not be assigned to a third party. This right does not apply to any other 
units. Such right may be exercised by signing and returning to us during the 60 day period following 
the delivery of this Notice the Unit Purchase and Sale Agreement being delivered to you together with 
the deposit specified. If you do not contract to purchase such unit following receipt of this notice or 
close as provided in the contract, Back Cove Estates LLC may not convey or offer to convey the unit 
which you now possess to any other person or persons during the following 180 days at a price or on 
terms more favorable than the price or terms previously offered to you unless the more favorable price 
or terms are first offered to you. 

This offer may be accepted only by signing and returning the Purchase and Sale Agreement in 
to us with your deposit within the 60 day period. 

If you do not purchase said unit during said 60 day period, then we may not offer to dispose of 
an interest in that unit during the following 180 days at a price or on terms more favorable than the price 
or terms offered to you under the enclosed agreement. If a unit is conveyed in violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
51604-1 1 l(b) to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation of the terms thereof, 
recordation of the deed conveying the unit will extinguish any right you may have to purchase the unit if 
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the deed states that the Seller has complied with 33 M.R.S.A. 31604-1 11 but any such conveyance does 
not affect your right as tenant to recover damages from the Declarant for a violation of 33 M.R.S.A. 
§1604-111. 

3. Portland Ordinance - Relocation Assistance: 

If you do not purchase the unit you occupy and your gross income is eighty (80) percent or less 
of the median income for the Portland SMSA adjusted for family size, as determined by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time this notice is given, then before you can be 
required to vacate, we must make a cash payment to you in an amount equal to the amount of rent paid 
by you for the immediately preceding two (2) months. This requirement shall not apply to any tenant 
whose gross income exceeds eighty (80) percent of the median income of the Portland SMSA, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development at the time 
notice is given as required in section 14-568(a). Additionally, we shall, upon demand, provide 
assistance to a tenant in the form of referrals to other reasonable accommodations and in determining 
the tenant's eligibility for relocation payments as provided herein. (Ord. No. 213-81, 8608.5, 11-16-81). 

Information provided by the City of Portland indicates that the following family income levels 
or less will trigger the right to receive relocation assistance in an amount equal to two months rent: 

Family Size 80% of Median Income 
1 $35.100 
2 $40,150 
3 $45,150 
4 $50.150 

I 5 $54.150 I 
6 $58,200 
7 $62,200 
8 $66,200 

6 
7 
8 ~ 0 0 , L V U  

Verification of your income will be required. 

The following notice has been approved by and is given to you pursuant to the requirements of 
the City of Portland: 

If you do not buy your apartment, the developer of this project is 
required by law to assist you in finding another place to live and in 
determining your eligibility for relocation payments. If you have 
questions about your rights under the law, or complaints about the ' / 
way you have been treated by the developer, you may contact the 
Building Inspection Division, Department of Planning and Urban 
Development, City of Portland, 389 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 
041 01 (telephone: 874-8703). 

i 

A copy of the Portland Ordinance is included with this letter. As the tenant in possession of your unit 
you have the exclusive right to purchase your unit at the price specified above for the first 60 days after 
you receive this notice. 
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4. Lease Termination. 

As Back Cove Estates LLC is converting the property to a condominium, notice is hereby given 
terminating your tenancy on the to occur of (a) 120 days from the date of the receipt of this notice 
or (b) the end of your Lease. If you have lived in your unit for more than four (4) years consecutively, 
this 120 day period is increased by 30 days for each full year or fraction thereof for up to 240 extra days. 

Our records indicate that your current lease terminates on the date set forth at the beginning of 
this letter. Accordingly, notice is hereby given terminating your tenancy effective as of the end of your 
lease term or at the end of the extended occupancy period, on which date you shall be required to vacate 
the unit that you now occupy. 

Nothing permits us to terminate of your lease in violation of its terms. Please let us know if you 
have any questions. 

Very truly yours, 
BACK YE ESTATES LLC 

1 

cc City of Portland - Building Inspection Division 

Enclosure: Back Cove Estates Public Offering Statement 

Notice Condo Conversion 
11/9/04 IO 48 AM 



Response Sheet 

To Back Cove Estates, LLC 
67 Back Cove Estates 
Portland, ME 04103-4621 

Dated: Y 200 

I have received the Notice of Condominium Conversion for Back Cove Estates and the 

Public Offering Statement. 

I wish to purchase my unit. Please contact me to make arrangements for signing 

the purchase and sale agreement. I understand that I will not be obligated until I 

have signed the purchase and sale agreement and made the required deposit, and 

that I must so within 60 days of the date I received the conversion materials. 

0 I do not wish to purchase my unit. 

I do not wish to purchase my unit and wish to obtain relocation assistance since 

my income is eighty (80) percent or less of the median income for the Portland. 

Please provide me with the income verification forms. 

Unit ## 

Print name: 

Telephone # 

Notice Condo Convmian 
11/4/04 10.48 Ah4 


