STATE OF MAINE )
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

ey
PAUL R, LEPAGE PAUL MERCER
GOVERNOR ) COMMISSIONER

February 29, 2016

Cliff Island Association
PO Box 118

Cliff Island, ME 04019
cindigi@chaseleavitt.com

RE: Maine Waste Discharge License (WDL) Application #W009062-54-B-R
FINALIZED WDI Renewal

Dear Cliff Island Association:

Enclosed, please find a copy of your finalized Maine WDI., which was approved by the
Department of Environmental Protection. Please read the license and its attached conditions
carefully. You must follow the conditions in the order to satisfy the requirements of law. Any
discharge not receiving adequate treatment is in violation of State law and is subject to
enforcement action.

Any interested person aggrieved by a Department determination made pursuant to applicable
regulations, may appeal the decision following the procedures described in the attached DEP
FACT SHEET entitled “dppealing a Commissioner’s Licensing Decision.”

Please review the important information on elimination of OBDs provided in the enclosed DEP
Fact Sheet #DEPLW1184, Summary of 2010 OBD Law Changes. If a technologically proven
alternative system is available to eliminate your OBD, the alternative system must be installed
before this license expires if; 1} the OBD serves a non-primary residence; 2) serves a primary
residence and the owners have an annua) income of more than $125,000; 3) ownership of the
property is transferred; 4) the OBD owners initiate a significant construction project (>$50,000).
If technologically proven alternative system is available and you believe you are not eligible for a
grant, the Department strongly encourages you to contact us before your license expires to discuss
these requirements in greater detail.

If you have documented that a technologically proven alternative system is not available, you will
NOT BE REQUIRED to remove the OBD during the five-year term of the enclosed license.
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DEPARTMENT ORDER
_ IN THE MATTER OF
CLIFF ISLAND ASSOCIATION - ) PROTECTION AND IMPROVEMENT
PORTLAND, CUMBERLAND COUNTY, MAINE ) OF WATERS
RESIDENTIAL OVERBOARD DISCHARGE ) WASTE DISCHARGE LICENSE
#W009062-5A-B-R APPROVAL ) RENEWAL

Pursuant to Conditions of licenses, 38 M.R.S.A. § 414-A, and applicable regulations, the Maine
Department of Environmental Protection (Department) has considered the application of CLIFE
ISLAND ASSOCIATION (applicant or licensee), with its supportive data, agency review comments,
and other related materials on file and FINDS THE FOLLOWING FACTS:

APPLICATION SUMMARY

The applicant has applied to the Department for renewal of Waste Discharge License (WDL)
#W009062-5A-A-N, which was issued to the applicant on April 26, 2011 and is scheduled to expire on
April 26, 2016. The 4/26/11 WDL authorized the year-round, daily maximum discharge of 600" gallons
per day (GPD}) of primary treated sanitary wastewater generated by an assembly hall and treated with a
mechanical wastewater treatment system to Casco Bay, Class SB, in Portland, Maine. The applicant has
provided documentation indicating that the discharge now receives secondary treatment.

LICENSE SUMMARY _
The applicant has objectively demonstrated to the Department’s satisfaction that, based on
documentation from a licensed site evaluator experienced in designing replacement systems for

- overboard discharges, there are currently no technologically-proven alternative methods of wastewater
disposal consistent with the plumbing code adopted by the Department of Health and Human Services
pursuant to Title 22, section 42 that will result in elimination of the overboard discharge. Overboard
discharges: licenses and abandonment, 06-096 CMR 596(6)(B)(2) (last amended November 27, 2004)
requires that the licensed discharge volume be limited to the lesser of the volume limit of the previous
license or the volume equal to the actual or estimated volume produced by the facility connected to the
overboard discharge system during the 12 months prior to June 1, 1987. The estimated wastewater
volume generated by a three-bedroom dwelling is 270 GPD according to Maine Subsurface Waste
Water Disposal Rules, 10-144 CMR 241, Table 4A. However, the Department has developed policy to
establish a minimum volume limitation of 300 GPD for single-family dwellings, which is being carried
forward in this licensing action as a daily maximum discharge flow limitation. The applicant has

 certified that public notice of the application was provided. |
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THEREFORE, the Department APPROVES the above noted application of CLIFF ISLAND

- ASSOCIATION to discharge a daily maximum of 600 gallons per day of secondary treated sanjtary
wastewater from an assembly hall on a year-round basis to Casco Bay, Class SB, in Portland, Maine,
SUBJECT TO THE ATTACHED CONDITIONS, and all applicable standards and regulations
mcluding:

1. Maine Department of Environmental Protection’s Standard License Conditions for Overboard
Discharges of Less Than 2,000 Gallons per Day, revised October 2004, copy attached.

2. The attached Special Conditions, including any effluent limitations and monitoring requirements.

3. This permit expires five years from the date of signature below. If a renewal application is timely
submitted and accepted as complete for processing prior to the expiration of this permit, the
‘authorization to discharge and the terms and conditions of this permit and all modifications and
minor revisions thereto remain in effect until a final Department decision on the renewal application
becomes effective. [Maine Administrative Procedure Act, 5 MR.S.A. § 10002 and Rules
Concerning the Processing of Applications and Other Administrative Matters, 06-096 CMR
2(21)(A) (effective April 1, 2003)]

PLEASE NOTE ATTACHED SHEET FOR GUIDANCE ON APPEAL PROCEDURES

DONE AND DATED AT AUGUSTA, MAINE, THIS £ 7 !DAY OF Eé%@n 5Qp£%/_—ﬁ , 2016.

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

—WdaPED

For P&l Mercer, Commissioner

. - Filed
Date of initial receipt of application: January 25, 2016
Date of application acceptance: ~  January 26, 2016 P
PP P . FEB 23 20%
Siate
|Board of Er‘t{vfror?LtEQiGProtecugn

Date filed with Board of Environmental Protection:

This Order prepared by Irene M Saumur, BUREAU OF WATER QUALITY
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B. REQUIREMENTS TO ELIMINATE OVERBOARD DISCHARGES (cont’d) . .

2. License Renewal Waste Discharge Licenses for overboard discharges are issued for a five-year
term. The licensee shall submit a complete application for license renewal prior to the
expiration date of this license to continue the discharge beyond the expiration date of this
license. If a technologically proven alternative system is available and;

a) The overboard discharge owner is eligible for grant funding2 the alternative system must be
installed within 180 days of written notification from the Department, unless otherwise
provided by Conditions of licenses, 38 M.R.S.A. § 411-A(1-B).

b) The overboard discharge owner is not ehglble for grant funding, the alternative system must
be installed prior to the expiration date of this license.

3. Abandonment of Overboard Discharge. When an overboard discharge is no longer necessary
or is replaced by technologically proven altemative system, it must be properly abandoned
within 90 days following the requirements of Overboard discharges. licenses and
abandonment, 06-096 CMR 596(8), including submission of Overboard Discharge
Abandonment Certification Form #DEPLW0653-A2010. "

C. PAYMENT OF FEES

Annual waste discharge license fees, 38 MLR.S.A. § 353-B requires the licensee to pay an
applicable annual fee for discharges authorized by this license. The Department may pursue
enforcement, including, but not limited to, penalties pursuant to Organization and powers, 38
M.R.S.A. § 349, and suspension or revocation pursuant to Board Responsibilities and Duties, 38
M.R.S.A. § 341-D(3), for the failure of a licensee to pay any portion of licensing fees owed by the
date due.

D. REOPENING OF LICENSE FOR MODIFICATION

Upoen evaluation of new site-specific information obtained during the term of this license, the
Department may, at any time and with notice to the licensee, modify this license to: 1) include
effluent limits necessary to control specific pollutants where there is a reasonable potential that the
effluent may cause water quality criteria to be exceeded; 2) require additional monitoring if results
on file are inconclusive; or 3) change monitoring requirements or limitations based on new
mformation.

E. SEVERABILITY

In the event that any provision, or part thereof, of this license is declared to be unlawful by a
reviewing court, the remainder of the license shall remain in full force and effect, and shall be
construed and enforced in all aspects as if such unlawful provision, or part thereof, had been
omitted, unless otherwise ordered by the court. -

2 Grant eligibility is based on the cost-share schedule under State contribution to res:dentraf
' overboard discharge replacemenf pro;ecz‘s 38 M.R. S A. §411-A




OBD owners who do not qualify for a grant may be eligible for funding provided through the Maine
State Housing Authority (MSHA). MSHA, through the regional Community Action Program agency,
can provide low interest loans (maximum of $15,000) to replace an OBD with a subsurface system or
connection to public sewer. Eligibility for the program is limited to those with household incomes less
than 120% of the area’s median household income. Additional information on the MSHA loan program
is available at www.maine housing.org or from Monica Buck, MSHA, at 207-624-5745 /
mbuck(@mainehousing.org.

“Significant Action” Trigger for OBD Removal

Waste discharge licenses, 38 M.R.S.A. § 413 is amended to require elimination of OBDs (beginning
September 1, 2010) if a “significant action™ is proposed for the property containing the OBD.
“Significant action" means a single construction project performed on a primary residence with an OBD
when the total material and labor cost of the construction project exceeds $50,000. Prior to conducting a
significant action, an OBD owner is required to determine, based on documentation from a LSE, the
feasibility of eliminating the OBD with a technologically-proven alternative. If an alternative to the
OBD is identified, the alternative system must be installed within 90 days of the significant action.

DEP Contacts

Questions regarding this fact sheet or the OBD program in general should be directed to:

Irene Saumur

Division of Water Quality Management
Bureau of Water Quality

Maine Department of Environmental Protection
17 State House Station
-Augusta, ME 04333-0017

ph: 207-485-2404

fax: 207-287-3435

e-mail: irene.saumur@maine.gov

- OBD Fact Sheet June 2010
Doc.# DEPLW1184




APPENDIX A - MAINE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
STANDARD LICENSE CONDITIONS FOR OVERBOARD DISCHARGES
OF LESS THAN 2,000 GALLONSPER DAY

III. TREATMENT

A.

B.

The licensee shall maintain the wastewater treatment system including its appurtenances in good
working order and operate the system at maximum efficiency at all times.

The wastewater treatrnent system including its appurtenances must be installed according to
Department specifications and be operational prior to the discharge of wastewater.

The effluent from the wastewater treatment system must not exceed the following limits:

_, Dlscharge Ltmntatlons L
Monthly Average Daily Maxnmum

g : --- as licensed
'-5—Day B:ochemlc;ai Oxygen Demand (BOD) 30 mg/L 50 mg/L
Total Suspended Solids (TSS) S . 30 mg/L 50 mg/L
Settieable Solids o e e --- 0.3 miL
"Feca[ coliform Bacterla (for manne estuanne d|scharges) 15¢col/100ml 50 col/100m|
_E_sr_:henchla cdli Bacteria (for freshwater discharges] | Class B: 64 col/100ml 427 ¢ol/100 ml
- L '“75'31-.: Class C: 142 CDI./‘lOOmi 949 col /100 ml
Total Residual Chlorine - . &« 0o T e T o mgdl
PHALE A e e |The pH ofthe efﬁuentshail notbe lessthanGOorgreaterthanSO

Chlorination or ultraviolet units must be used as a means of disinfection. A minimum detention time of
20 minutes in an approved contact chamber must be provided at all times for chlorinators. The total
chlorine residual in the effluent must at no time cause any demonstrable harm to aquatic life in the

receiving water. The tota] chlorine residual of the effluent may not exceed 1.0 mg/L. at any time.

The final effluent pipe must be placed in the receiving waters in such a manner that mixing and
effective dispersion of the wastewater will be achieved and that contact with the effluent will be
minimized.

The licensee shall not discharge or cause to be discharged any materials designated as hazardous or
toxic under the provision of Section 12, Federal Water Pollution Control Act, as amended, 33 U.S.C.
1162 (1971) or by the Department or which are known by the licensee to be hazardous or toxic.

The discharge must not have a visible oil sheen, contain foam or floating solids.

The discharge may not contain materials in concentrations or combinations that are hazardous or
toxic to aquatic life; nor may it cause turbidity or visible discoloration in the receiving waters to
exceed control values measured upstream of the discharge point.

Notwithstanding specific conditions of this license the effluent may not lower that water quality
standards or impair the uses designated by the classification of the receiving waters.

V. NONCOMPLIANCE NOTIFICATION

A.

It is the obligation of the licensee to notify Department staff immediately of any malfunction in any
component of the wastewater treatment system. In the event the wastewater treatment system
malfunctions, the wastewater discharge is to cease within 24 hours unless authorization to the
contrary is obtained from the staff of the Department.

Page 2 of 4 Dee. # DEPLWO0194-B2004

REV. 10/04




APPENDIX A - MAINE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
STANDARD LICENSE CONDITIONS FOR OVERBOARD DISCHARGES
OF LESS THAN 2,000 GALLONS PER DAY

1.

SPECIAL CONDITIONS FOR MECHANICAL TREATMENT SYSTEMS

M-1. The licensee shall maintain a service contract for any and all treatment equipment and facilities with
a service organization acceptable to the Department. A signed copy of the service contract must be
forwarded or presented to the Department staff upon request.

M-2. A tag, provided by the service contractor, must be attached to the treatment system or displayed near
the treatment system in an accessible manner. The tag must show the name of the service '
contractor, the date of the most recent visit by the service contractor and the initials of the person.
conducting the service.

M-3. The installed mechanical system must have an alarm system of a design approved by the Department.

DEFINITIONS - FOR THE PURPOSE OF THIS LICENSE, THE FOLLOWING DEFINITIONS APPLY:

A. Daily Maximum for Concentration: The maximum value not to be exceeded by any composite or grab
samples,

. Monthly Average for Concentration: The total discharge by weight during a calendar month divided by
the number of tests in the month that the facility was operating. Where less than daily sampling is
required by this license, the monthly average discharge shall be determined by the summation of all the
measured daily discharges by weight divided by the number of days during the calendar month when the
measurements were made. '

Licensee: The person identified in the findings of fact as being granted the license by the Department.

D. Facility: “Facility” includes the waste discharge system, its appurtenances, and all connected structures
that produce wastewater discharge volumes according to this license. Facility shall include unplumbed
structures accessory to connected structures (bunkhouses, etc.) which would logically result in an
increased discharge volume or change in effluent character.

. Sanitary Wastewater: Domestic effluent, having received the licensed level of treatment and disinfection.

Page 4 of 4 ' Doc. # DEPLW0194-82004
REV. 10/04




2. The findings, conclusions or conditions objected to or believed to be in error. Specific references and
facts regarding the appellant’s issues with the decision must be provided in the notice of appeal.

3. The basis of the objections or challenge. If possible, specific regulations, statutes or other facts should
be referenced. This may include citing omissions of relevant requirements, and errors believed to have
been made in interpretations, conclusions, and relevant requirements.

4. The remedy sought. This can range from reversal of the Commissioner's decision on the license or
permit to changes in specific permit conditions.

‘5. All the malters to be contesied. The Board will [imit its consideration to those arguments specifically
raised in the written notice of appeal. ‘

6. Request for hearing. The Board will hear presentations on appeals at its regularly scheduled meetings,
unless a public hearing on the appeal is requested and granted. A request for public hearing on an
appeal must be filed as part of the notice of appeal.

7. New or additional evidence to be offered. The Board may allow new or additional evidence, referred to
as supplemental evidence, to be considered by the Board in an appeal only when the evidence is
relevant and material and that the person seeking to add information to the record can show due
diligence in bringing the evidence to the DEP’s attention at the earliest possible time in the licensing
process or that the evidence itself is newly discovered and could not have been presented earlier in the
process. Specific requirements for additional evidence are found in Chapter 2.

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS IN APPEALING A DECISION TQO THE BOARD

1. Be familiar with all relevant material in the DEP record. A license application file is public
information, subject to any applicable statutory exceptions, made easily accessible by DEP. Upon
request, the DEP will make the material available during normal working hours, provide space to
review the file, and provide opportunity for photocopying materials. There is a charge for copies or
copying services. ' '

2. Be familiar with the regulations and laws under which the application was precessed, and the
procedural rules governing your appeal. DEP staff will provide this information on request and
answer questions regarding applicable requirements.

3. Thefiling of an appeal does not operate as a stay to any decision. I a license has been granted and it
has been appealed the license normally remains in effect pending the processing of the appeal. A
license holder may proceed with a project pending the outcome of an appeal but the license holder runs
the risk of the decision being reversed or modified as a result of the appeal. ‘

WHAT TO EXPECT ONCE YOU FILE A TIMELY APFEAL WITH THE BOARD

The Board will formally acknowledge receipt of an appeal, including the name of the DEP project manager
assigned to the specific appeal. The notice of appeal, any materials accepted by the Board Chair as
supplementary evidence, and any materials submitted in response to the appeal will be sent to Board
members with a recommendation from DEP staff. Persons filing appeals and interested persons are notified
in advance of the date set for Board consideration of an appeal or request for public hearing. With or
without holding a public hearing, the Board may affirm, amend, or reverse a Commissioner decision or
remand the matter to the Commissioner for further proceedings. The Board will notify the appellant, a
license holder, and interested persons of its decision.




